I’m late, I’m late…

whiterabbit“I’m late, I’m late…for a very important date!”  I’m right up there with the White Rabbit from Alice In Wonderland.  We’re both late; he for a very important date, and me for my blog.  How did it get to be Easter already?  Something happened…the calendar moves faster than I do.  I think it got away from me because there’s still snow on the ground and it’s freezing outside.  No excuses, Easter is just around the corner even if there is no sign of spring.

chick_eggshell

Oh gosh, what fun thinking of Easters past.  Palm Sunday kicked off the festivities when my older brother and I would anxiously accept our palm fronds at church and then whip each other with them on the way home from church…on bare legs those babies hurt!  I know, not the intended purpose.  You’ll be happy to know we did eventually make little crosses tied with string out of pieces of frond, and hung them above our beds until they dried and turned yellow.

 

clothes

Not my family but so close it’s scary!

Mom always went overboard dressing four kids, stem-to-stern, in Easter finery.  She didn’t go to the same church and there was no way her kids were going to embarrass her.  The boys got new sport coats, shirts, trousers, and clip-on bow ties that never stayed straight.  The sport coats were outgrown before the second wearing and the bow ties would surface years later in some obscure place.  We girls got pretty dresses, patent leather shoes with little matching purses, pristine white socks that stretched out around the ankle, white gloves that made my hands hot, and the dreaded “Easter bonnet.”  If mom was especially energetic she would give me a “Toni” home permanent that she always said made me beautiful, she only said that to stop the tears.  The only good thing about the “Easter bonnet” was it helped hid the corkscrews of my damaged hair.  Did you ever hear of a duster? That’s what Mom called the light-weight coat that topped the Easter ensemble when the weather was not cooperating…like this year.  Dressing us up made Mom happy.  Getting us out of church without a mishap made Dad happy. Coloring eggs and Easter baskets filled with candy made us kids happy.  What was the Easter Bunny thinking giving four kids that much candy?  We were jumping beans on steroids!

easter baby

The really big deal at Easter was colored chicks.  Yup, I’m from the age when this was very popular along with buying baby bunnies.  I don’t recommend either of these practices today, but it was exciting then.

dyed-chicks-550x412

I don’t remember our chicks ever being this brightly colored.

Whoa…fluorescent chicks!

It was a yearly challenge among the neighborhood kids to see whose colored chicks would live the longest.  I’m pretty sure my brother won because he always made a chicken brooder from a cardboard box with light bulbs and lined with newspaper for sanitary purposes.  Jar lids were used for chicken feed and water through which the chicks insisted on walking and doing unmentionable things.  Each year the brooder got bigger, more elaborate and finally evolving into a scientific masterpiece of metal and Plexiglas.  We’d carefully lower the baby chicks into the box and hope for the best.  Did you ever smell a heated box with a dozen baby chicks after a few days?   I can still smell it!  Even our best attempts usually didn’t work.  However, one year we succeeded, and Roy (named after Roy Rogers of course) grew to maturity. The surprise was that “Roy” developed into a black hen and not a rooster.  Who knew?  We sure didn’t know how to tell the difference between male and female chicks…still don’t.  I was disappointed that Roy lost her artificial color and turned black.  We would hear Roy squawking excitedly and race to his miniature chicken coop (converted dog house with chicken wire around it) at the end of the yard just in time to scare away some unknown predator.  You guessed it, one of those curious critters finally did-in old Roy.  Roy actually laid a few eggs for us before his final race around the coop.

Times certainly have changed,

but certain traditions such as coloring eggs will live forever.

easter eggs

I wish you and your family a joyous Easter with or without chicks!

easter blessing

Share your Easter memories by clicking on “Leave a comment,” top left, under the date.

Treat a child to a hours of enjoyment with a book.

digitalbookcoverupdated (2)EASmokeandMirrors Front Cover (3)-page-001

Available at Amazon.com or ordered from your local book store.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Louise
    Apr 01, 2015 @ 23:18:14

    I do remember those colored chicks and ducklings too… I always wanted a duck but never got one. My brother raised 3 baby chicks in his bedroom closet. He took good care of them and kept them very clean… Until my mom discovered them…

    Reply

    • kadavis1
      Apr 02, 2015 @ 00:31:43

      Closet…whoa. Brothers and chicks. What can I say? At least ours got to the basement and finally a real chicken coupon when my brother raised Capons for 4H. I love that others remember the chicks.

      Reply

  2. Sandra Foust Geimer
    Apr 02, 2015 @ 09:18:24

    Oh those peepees as we called them…….it was such an exciting time to have those little cuties run around and look funny in their multi-colors. We, of course loved our peeps and I put mind under my pillow to keep it nice and warm. No one told me it would be squished in the morning. Oh the trauma, but mom and dad got me another one. This really dates me, but we still have movie reels (put on disks) of our getting our peeps and prancing around in our brand new Easter outfits. Those were exciting times and the memories are with us forever. Thanks for the reminder!!!

    Reply

  3. kadavis1
    Apr 05, 2015 @ 20:16:16

    Too Funny!!! I forgot about the sad tale of the squished peep! You were just a little too motherly.

    Reply

  4. Deanie Humphrys-Dunne
    Apr 05, 2015 @ 21:58:06

    Such a great story to share with us Kathleen. I love reading about some of your wonderful Easter memories! Hope you had a lovely day.

    Reply

  5. kadavis1
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 12:02:57

    Thank you Deanie. Glad you liked it and hope it brought back good memories for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

