Kids in the kitchen

Beautiful miniature kitchen

The kitchen is the heart of every home where family and friends prefer to gather.  This special room is where families prepare and eat meals, do homework, play games, and create projects for school and leisure.   It’s the common ground for everything that happens in the home.  Most importantly, it’s where families share time.  It’s also the perfect place to teach teamwork and responsibility.  The story of The Little Red Hen is a perfect example for teaching the children to share the work in order to share the benefit.   Even the youngest children can help set the table, clear the table, and dry dishes. While you’re at it…teach them to cook.  More and more I see young people interested in cooking and baking.

I would like to share a simple recipe with you and your children.  Call it a starter recipe because it’s so easy.  I failed fudge 101 and even managed to mess up the “Foolproof Fudge” recipe, don’t know how, but I did.  After many years of not making fudge I was introduced to Peanut Butter Meltaway Fudge, which I can actually make perfectly every time.  Give it a try and see what you think.

 

Peanut Butter Meltaway Fudge

One 14 ounce bag of white chocolate candy melts

One 14 ounce bag of milk chocolate candy melts

One 12 ounce jar of creamy peanut butter

Spray an 8 x 8-inch or 9 x 9-inch pan or baking dish with nonstick cooking spray and set aside.

Place candy melts and the peanut butter into a large, microwave-safe bowl.  Place bowl in the microwave on high for 60 seconds. Remove, stir, and return to microwave for another 60 seconds.  Remove and stir again.  If lumps remain, return to the microwave for 30 seconds, stir and repeat until all the lumps are gone and mixture is creamy smooth.

Pour mixture into the prepared pan and refrigerate.  When fudge has hardened, remove and place on the counter until it comes to room temperature (this makes it easier to cut).  Cut into squares and serve.  This fudge keeps very well in an airtight container in the refrigerator for several weeks.  Enjoy.

 Plaisier de Veniseminiature kitchen by Cinderella Moments

Do you like the pictures of kitchens?

They’re all dollhouse kitchens!

Books are best friends forever!Books! Artist: unknown

digitalbookcoverupdated (2)EASmokeandMirrors Front Cover (3)-page-001

Emerson’s Attic available at Amazon.com

http://www.kathleenandrewsdavis.com

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Chantal Jauvin
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 10:54:23

    I’ve lived all over the world and in most cultures, the kitchen is where it all happens. Sometimes the kitchen might be a wonderfully equipped room, sometimes barely a fire-pit and a few stainless steel pots. But the heart and joy crosses all borders.
    Children who grow up in kitchens not only learn to love food, but giving, preparation, and mostly to let their senses explore.
    I have found memories of my niece and I making blueberry pancakes at the cottage, a friend’s daughter stealing all my black olives while I made a salad and my husband baking his first cookies in our new home.
    I never wanted to learn how to cook as a young girl. Still, I climbed onto the kitchen counter and regaled my Mom with stories from my day at school. She is a great chef and I loved to see her add a little of this and a little of that and taste and taste again until it was just right.
    To this day, I can never follow a recipe. But like my Mom, I love to entertain and create with food.
    When my husband compliments a dish I’ve made, I always respond “Happy you like it, you’ll never have it again.” It brings laughter each time.
    The kitchen represents all that a home is: sharing, caring, team work, responsibility and creativity.
    I will try your recipe, what can go wrong you have peanut butter in the mix?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

