In A Nutshell

Good things come in small packages…that couldn’t be more true than with “nutshell” books.  Whether you get just one or splurge for a whole set in a neat little library box, they are unique and great for building memories.  IMG_0701

I only remember having one nutshell book as a child.  My mother gave it to me and instilled in me the love of that special little book.  I feel bad because I don’t remember what the book was about, even worse I don’t have it any more.  The best thing about a nutshell book is seeing the joy on a child’s face when they hold one in their sweet hands.  Even if they can’t read, they love having a book just their size.

I always thought nutshells were just for fairy tales or poetry until a friend tucked one in with a Christmas gift.  That book called Christmas Gifts and Wrappings is pictured above.  I don’t remember what the gift was (yikes, another memory lapse), but as long as I have that little book I will never forget my thoughtful friend.

DSCN2627

Children learn to love the sound of language before they notice the existence of words on a page, especially when it’s a parent’s voice saying the words.  Reading aloud to children stimulates their imagination and expands their understanding of the world. It’s never too early to start reading to your child.  You don’t want to miss those special times with your child or grandchild nestled in your lap resting his or her head on your shoulder as you read.

When I think about nutshell books, I think about nuts which leads me to thinking about squirrels.  IMG_0736IMG_0735

This is crazy Bob who has become an expert at stealing bird food.

Bob is out of control!

I like to imagine squirrels live in houses like those below.  What do you think?

treehouse1treehouse2

Plan a special outing and take the little person in your life to the bookstore for a nutshell book.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandra Foust Geimer
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 10:51:41

    This is such a wonderful story about the Nutshell Books. I don’t remember them, and I have no clue whether or not I ever owned one. With that being said, I am going to go on a hunt and look for some for my grandchildren. They may care less, but I am sure in the future they will benefit from having such a treasure. Reading is like breathing, it’s FREE. If we can get our grandchildren reading at a young age, it will only benefit them in the future. So, it is our duty to drill “reading” into their brains at an early age. It always warms my soul to see young people reading something besides a comic book. Reading a good book is like having a best friend beside you all the time.

    About Bob – he’s my kind of squirrel!!! He probably read how to deal with bird feeders in a book about smart squirrels. Reading books = smart people and smart squirrels.

    Reply

  2. kadavis1
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 10:54:02

    Have yet to see Bob sit still long enough to read, but there’s always hope!

    Reply

  3. ccjauvin
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 05:41:13

    I also never owned a nutshell. I grew up in French. I do remember having a mountain of story books that I read and re-read. My mother rarely read to me at bedtime. Her domain was lullabies. Although I cannot sing my way out of a paper bag, I can still hear her voice and those very early songs.

    Reading is a gift. My wish is that every child be read to sleep at least a few times before they grow up. I also wish that they listen to the reading and use their imagination to conjure the story they are listening to. Our world needs more imagination to face all the challenges before us. What better way to foster this then with children and their unhindered imagination.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

