Dollhouses, memories, and more…..

I am a mother, grandmother, author, and now blogger…why blogger?

As the keynote speaker, at a recent writers’ conference  said, “nothing is new, it’s just presented differently.”  That being said, you won’t find earth-shattering news on my blog.  What I hope you will find are dollhouse pictures and projects, simple craft ideas, recipes, tips for busy moms, and who knows what else, just about anything I can think of that will encourage families to make more time to do things together.   Stop and smell the roses…okay, not literally, but do take time every day to observe your family and surroundings, these are your future memories.

Let’s talk dollhouses.  I never played with dolls, but I wanted a dollhouse!   I asked Santa for a dollhouse when I was about 5-years-old and as Santa usually does, he delivered.  It was a tin dollhouse with 4 or 5 rooms and of fairly small but adequate size.  The front was solid and the back was open.  Everything was already painted inside the dollhouse, the walls, the wood on the floors, braided rugs, curtains on the windows, even the appliances in the kitchen were painted on the kitchen walls.  If you google tin dollhouses you’ll see exactly what I’m talking about.  There was minimal plastic furniture and I don’t remember any people or tiny accessories.  I was a bit disappointed because it was not at all what I had in mind.  Of course these dollhouses are now “vintage” and selling for many times more than I’m sure what they cost in the 1950’s.  I wanted a big, wooden dollhouse that I could decorate myself.  Okay, so I had not made myself clear to Santa.

Apparently, I had a serious problem communicating with Santa, and my parents too for that matter, because I asked for a horse every Christmas with no success.  As my mother used to tell it, I asked for a horse as soon as I could say the word.  Santa started with a simple wooden rocking horse.  That wasn’t right, so I asked again the next year, this time it was a tin horse that when you stood up on the stirrups it moved up and down.  Still not right, I wanted a horse with “real fur.”  This request resulted in a rocking horse with soft fur and a long tail and mane. Still not right!  Eventually, they got the picture I wanted a real horse.  My parents explained, “we live in the city and we have nowhere to keep a horse.”  I thought I solved this problem rather easily…”just put planks down the cellar steps and he can live down there.”  I must have driven them crazy because we finally moved to the country and got our first horse and pony.

I know I’m rambling but bear with me.  We were sitting in church one day and the priest was giving a sermon about asking God for favors.  Now, he was talking my language, in English not Latin, so I could actually understand what he was saying.  I sat up tall and listened intently.  Surely he was going to tell me the correct way to ask for and get a horse (dollhouse now long forgotten).  Instead, he said, “sometimes God says no.”  I was so shocked I slumped dejectedly in the pew.  I could feel my dad looking down at me as if he could read my mind.  I’m pretty sure he did that a lot, Dad that is, not God.

Anyway, back to dollhouses.  I think I must have been a strange child because I was interested in architecture and furniture while still in elementary school.  I remember dusting my grandmother’s mahogany end tables that had Chippendale fretwork so intricate I had to cover my index finger with a thin cloth to get in between all the open work (wish I had those tables now).  She also had red, frieze (nylon looped, tone-on-tone) sofa that when you sat on it in shorts the design was imprinted on the back of your thighs…oh yeah, some of you will remember that too (glad I don’t have that sofa).  My favorite architecture was, and still is Victorian, so of course my dollhouse had to be Victorian and yellow because of a yellow house in a Hayley Mills/Walt Disney film.

I finally got my “real” dollhouse.  It took over 50 years but my family bought me a dollhouse kit for Christmas.  This was my third best Christmas; first was the year I got my shiny, lime green Huffy bicycle with chrome fenders; then my sweet kitten Alexandra; and the third was the dollhouse.  I was really excited until I tried to lift the box.  Oh my, who knew!  It was so heavy I had to open it on the floor and when I saw the thousands of pieces I stopped breathing.  This was serious business, but I was determined, and I wanted to do it all myself without my husband’s help…bad decision on my part, and of course once said I could not admit I needed help.  See those bay windows, killers, absolute killers for a novice and the directions were no help figuring out angles.  This is where dollhouses become family projects, dads and brothers come in handy when you need help with tools and building technique.

If you have seen the first page of my website kathleenandrewsdavis.com…that’s my dollhouse.  This is a teaser because I’m embarrassed to tell you the house is still not done X-number of years later but it is a work in progress.  I now use the excuse that I want to share the experience with my granddaughter.  Actually, when I have the time I love working on it and it’s amazing how much you can get done in a few hours.

Wait, I lied.  That was not my first dollhouse kit.  The first one was a little house that I made for my special friend Sally when she was about the same age when I asked for my first dollhouse.  Sally loved her little house and anytime another child played with it she wanted to know “who was in my dollhouse?”  Kind of like, “who was sleeping in my bed?” asked Papa Bear. She knew exactly where she had left everything and did not like items moved.  Sally has since moved on to a much bigger and better dollhouse of which I’ll show you pictures in a future blog.  It’s particularly cool because it is designed after the board game Clue.

I have a friend who is virtually a dollhouse guru and is always there for me when I need answers.  The “Dollhouse Lady” will be happy to answer questions for you as well.  I’ll be featuring pictures of some of the many dollhouses and miniature boxes she has made throughout the coming months.

 

House for Sale

 

 front of house  3

 

The Rosedawn Plantation – designed and constructed by the Lawbre Company is a magnificent statement in the Antebellum Southern Classical Greek Revival tradition. The Rosedawn contains three floors with twelve rooms and measures 55″ Wide x 26″ Deep x 37″ High.  The Rosedawn is the ultimate in dollhouses and the perfect gift for daughter or granddaughter. Visit Lawbre.com to appreciate their craftsmanship.

The Rosedawn, completely electrified and all but one room meticulously decorated, is being offered for sale to the highest bidder (over the owner’s pre-determined minimum) with or without the existing furniture.  If you want a superior quality dollhouse and don’t have the time or interest in doing the detail work, this is the house for you.  If you are a miniature enthusiast you will recognize the quality of this house and an opportunity you don’t want to miss.

 

20141028_121122

 

Ladies room  1

Dining room 1

mens room 2

 

Bedroom 1Bathroom 1

20141028_121357

 

The house is located in the Maryland suburbs outside Washington DC area and is large and significantly heavy.  The successful bidder will be responsible for picking up the house or arranging for packing and shipping.  The original shipping crate is available.

Please send bids to me with your contact information and I will forward them to the owner for consideration.  Christmas is just around the corner…don’t delay.

 

Busy Mommy Tip:  Save time in the mornings and reduce stress by working with your stylist to find a haircut that is low maintenance.

Quote Of The Day:  “When you have the choice of being right or being kind…choose kind” – Dr. Wayne Dyer.

See you next time!

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kadavis1
    Nov 10, 2014 @ 10:07:01

    Reply

Leave a Reply

